top of page
Search

What is Teaching? Class Discussion

Updated: Apr 8, 2022

I found this quote online last year and it has stuck with me everyday since. When someone asks me what profession I've chosen and I answer with "A teacher", they always plague me with the question of ‘why’. I believe the significance of this quote sums up the answer all on its own. As teachers we aren't just assisting children with their education but we are changing their lives in the process. When we become teachers it is our greatest responsibility to take care of all the little lives when they are in our presence.


The biggest misconception I have noticed about teachers is that they are the enablers. Some students see this as the case because when they are home they might have a set of specified rules their guardians give them and when they are at school they might feel like this is a place where they can “catch a break” per say. Of course this is true but as soon as the teachers put in place classroom rules, some see it as the exact same as their parents. We are the villains in their fairytale because we have rules. I feel as long as we create a fun, inclusive way to enforce the classroom rules and education then maybe that will change the young minds. We are the biggest role model these children have when they are learning so it's our job to take that responsibility into every consideration. As a teacher I must be flexible and adaptable because every student is different. When I was a student I actually had a teacher that was neither of those characteristics. They were the villain of my story because they did not make an effort to hear some of my classmates and I not understanding a certain lesson. That teacher's main focus was absolutely only on the students that understood everything they taught. Having witnessed that type of teacher, I will try my hardest to be the opposite.


Some of the key elements of my teaching philosophy include: ensuring that I create an inclusive stimulating environment for my students so they can blossom mentally, emotionally, socially and physically. I will strive to do my best in assisting my students are excelling to the best of their abilities in every accomplishment or road block they may have. My goal is to create the most safe, healthy, happy place for my students to come to. They need to know that I am there not only to be their educator but to also be their temporary guardian, their counsellor, their friend. As I progress through the years my philosophy may change. I will have learned from my students, colleagues or any positive and negative shadows in that time. I have gained experience and grown as a person and most importantly as a teacher.






*Image credits to the created companies, I found them online on google*

2 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page